Recommended Books for Management and Leadership Book Clubs



Management and leadership book clubs focus on helping managers achieve more from themselves and their teams. Popular topics including coaching, mentoring, having difficult conversations, building a positive culture and strategic planning. The list below are some of the most popular book selections from our management and leadership book clubs although we have hundreds of other books and are constantly adding more titles to our library based on each group's learning goals and participant interests.






The first edition of Crucial Conversations exploded onto the scene and revolutionized the way millions of people communicate when stakes are high. This new edition gives you the tools to: Prepare for high-stakes situations Transform anger and hurt feelings into powerful dialogue Make it safe to…




Forget everything you thought you knew about how to motivate people at work, at school, at home. It's wrong. As Daniel H. Pink (author of" To Sell Is Human: The Surprising Truth About Motivating Others") explains in his paradigm-shattering book "Drive," the secret to high performance and…




Essentialism is a must read for people interested in productivity and getting more done. It's a real eye-opener which challenges you to think about what's important and how you're spending your time. The book guides you through the process of saying “no” to the “trivial many” so you can…




Since it’s release in October 2015, Extreme Ownership has revolutionized leadership development and set a new standard for literature on the subject. Required reading for many of the most successful organizations, it has become an integral part of the official leadership training programs for…




"The Bible of business and personal productivity" Lifehack


"A completely revised and updated edition of the blockbuster bestseller from 'the personal productivity guru'" Fast Company


Since it was first published almost fifteen years ago,…




In this must-read book for anyone striving to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows parents, educators, students, and business people both seasoned and new that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a focused persistence called grit.





Former Secretary of State Madeleine Albrigh reflects on the final stages of her career, and working productively into your her decades in this revealing, funny, and inspiring memoir.



In 2001, when Madeleine Albright was leaving office as America’s first female secretary…




Mark Twain once observed, "A lie can get halfway around the world before the truth can even get its boots on." His observation rings true: Urban legends, conspiracy theories, and bogus news stories circulate effortlessly. Meanwhile, people with important ideas--entrepreneurs, teachers, politicians,…




"From Facebook's COO and Wharton's top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building resilience and moving forward after life's inevitable setbacks.



After the sudden death of…




Are you just playing—or playing to win?



Strategy is not complex. But it is hard. It’s hard because it forces people and organizations to make specific choices about their future—something that doesn’t happen in most companies.



Now two of…




"Purposeful Hustle helps you answer the question: "How do I use my talents, skills, and resources to create a greater impact?"To be an effective change maker, you have to blend intentional thought (Purpose) with intentional action (Hustle). When engaging in Purposeful Hustle, you are directing your…




Radical candor is the sweet spot between managers who are obnoxiously aggressive on one side and ruinously empathetic on the other. It’s about providing guidance, which involves a mix of praise as well as criticism—delivered to produce better results and help employees achieve.




"What's the most effective path to success in any domain? It's not what you think.



Plenty of experts argue that anyone who wants to develop a skill, play an instrument, or lead their field should start early, focus intensely, and rack up as many hours of deliberate…




"A powerful and penetrating exploration of what separates great companies and great leaders from the rest."

-Polly LaBarre, coauthor of "Mavericks at Work"

Why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others? Why do…




Why is it so hard to make lasting changes in our companies, in our communities, and in our own lives?

The primary obstacle is a conflict that is built into our brains, say Chip and Dan Heath, authors of the critically acclaimed bestseller "Made to Stick." Psychologists have discovered…




In The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, author Stephen R. Covey presents a holistic, integrated, principle-centered approach for solving personal and professional problems. With penetrating insights and pointed anecdotes, Covey reveals a step-by-step pathway for living with fairness,…




For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin…




In Michael Bungay Stanier's The Coaching Habit, coaching becomes a regular, informal part of your day so managers and their teams can work less hard and have more impact.



Drawing on years of experience training more than 10,000 busy managers from around the globe in…




Most startups fail. But many of those failures are preventable. The Lean Startup is a new approach being adopted across the globe, changing the way companies are built and new products are launched.



Eric Ries defines a startup as an organization dedicated to creating…




"An inspiring guide from Dolly Chugh, an award-winning social psychologist at the New York University Stern School of Business, on how to confront difficult issues including sexism, racism, inequality, and injustice so that you can make the world (and yourself) better.





In The Power of Habit, award-winning New York Times business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific discoveries that explain why habits exist and how they can be changed. With penetrating intelligence and an ability to distill vast amounts of information into…




From Stephen R. Covey's eldest son comes a revolutionary new path towards productivity and satisfaction. Trust, says Stephen M.R. Covey, is the very basis of the new global economy, and he shows how trust—and the speed at which it is established with clients, employees and constituents —is the…




New York Times bestselling author Dan Heath examines how to prevent problems before they happen, drawing on insights from his innovative behavior research, as well as hundreds of new interviews with unconventional problem solvers.



Most of us spend our days handling a…




From Neil Pasricha—New York Times, million-copy bestselling author of The Book of Awesome series and The Happiness Equation, thought leader for the next generation, and one of the most popular TED speakers in the world—comes a revelatory and inspiring book that will change the way we view…